American Football: Alabama Dominates AP All-America Team

College Football Playoff No. 1 Alabama placed six players on The Associated Press All-America team released Monday, including five on offense and an unprecedented three at the skill positions.

The Crimson Tide contingent is led by quarterback Mac Jones, wide receiver DeVonta Smith, and running back Najee Harris. It’s the first time in the four decades since the AP began putting two running backs and two wide receivers on the first team that any team has placed a quarterback, running back and receiver on the first team.

Alabama tackle Alex Leatherwood and center Landon Dickerson also made the first team offense.

With cornerback Patrick Surtain II, the Crimson Tide claimed six first-team selections, the most in the nation.

No. 4 Notre Dame, Alabama’s College Football Playoff opponent this weekend, has two first-team All-Americans in offensive guard Aaron Banks and linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah.

Behind Jones at quarterback, Florida’s Kyle Trask was selected second team and fellow Heisman finalist Trevor Lawrence of Clemson was the third-team quarterback.

Lawrence, the likely first pick in the next NFL draft, made AP All-America for the first time in his career despite missing two games due to COVID-19 protocols. Clemson running back Travis Etienne also made the first-team as all-purpose player, after being selected a second-team All-American at running back the past two seasons.

For No. 3 Ohio State, guard Wyatt Davis and cornerback Shaun Wade are on the first team. Davis is the only player to repeat as a first-team All-American after making it in 2019.

In Friday’s national semifinals, No. 1 Alabama will face No. 4 Notre Dame in Arlington, Texas, and No. 2 Clemson will face No. 3 Ohio State in New Orleans.

The 2020 AP All-America First Team:

First Team Offense

  • Quarterback — Mac Jones, junior, Alabama.

  • Running backs — Najee Harris, senior, Alabama; Breece Hall, sophomore, Iowa State.

  • Tackles — Brady Christensen, junior, BYU; Alex Leatherwood, senior, Alabama.

  • Guards — Aaron Banks, senior, Notre Dame; Wyatt Davis, junior, Ohio State.

  • Center — Landon Dickerson, senior, Alabama.

  • Tight end — Kyle Pitts, junior, Florida.

  • Receivers — DeVonta Smith, senior, Alabama; Elijah Moore, junior, Mississippi.

  • All-purpose player — Travis Etienne, senior, Clemson.

  • Kicker — Jose Borregales, senior, Miami.

First Team Defense

  • Ends — Rashad Weaver, senior, Pitt; Tarron Jackson, senior, Coastal Carolina.

  • Tackles — Daviyon Nixon, junior, Iowa; Darius Stills, senior, West Virginia.

  • Dame; Joseph Ossai, junior, Texas.

  • Cornerbacks — Patrick Surtain II, junior, Alabama; Shaun Wade, senior, Ohio State.

  • Safeties — Talanoa Hufanga, junior, Southern California; Brandon Joseph, redshirt freshman, Northwestern.

  • Punter — Pressley Harvin III, senior, Georgia Tech.